Do not go gentle

“Do not go gentle into that good night,

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

– Dylan Thomas

This is an excerpt from one of my favourite poems. It makes me think of the human condition. What am I here for? What is my purpose? Am I just a statistic? Have I left my mark on the world? And do I need to leave a mark on the world anyway? What is it my fight all about? What do I want to achieve before my passing into the night?

Most, if not all people attempt to answer this question, and in different ways. It’s one of the things that I believe all of man searches for – a fundamental quality. Human beings generally like to know why they are, who they are. We also like to know that we will be remembered for something, and if not, at least just for being. I don’t think anybody wants to die alone; it’s a much too depressing thought. That’s why we ask ourselves who will remember us, and for what?

So how do we get remembered? Well, by doing things. We work, we interact, we share. For some people, this is something that doesn’t come too naturally. We have to be reminded to do, to participate . . . like Charlie in The Perks of being a Wallflower. Charlie is an introverted teen who thinks too much and prefers to observe life from the side-lines rather than actually get involved in things. His English teacher reminds him that he needs to participate. He says that sometimes people use thought to not participate in life – wallflowers.

I have to agree; overthinking can hold you back from a lot of things. It’s funny; often our greatest strengths can be our greatest weaknesses as well. For example, I have avoided a lot of trouble and division because of the mere fact that I tend to analyse and then over-analyse a situation. I’m not a very spontaneous person because I prefer to plan ahead. However, I’m also sure that I’ve missed out on sharing a lot of amazing experiences with people for the same reason.

I suppose the thing is that we need to learn to strike a balance between all these things.  Either way, life is not so easy to figure out. We just have to do our best at living fully, wholly, and the best way we know how. And if that’s by watching the sky every night with a cup of tea in hand, or by attending every party within a five-kilometre radius, then so be it. You can get the same type of euphoria in different ways can’t you?

Godspeed.

Leave a Reply

