I am seated on my bed, trying to write up a new post, but I have no idea what this blog post will be about. All I know is that I have to write. I need to write, even. I read somewhere that not writing is the easiest way to not become a writer. I know, that sounds obvious doesn’t it? Well it isn’t, especially when you come down with a case of writer’s block. It’s even funny that I call myself a writer, because for some reason I don’t consider myself one. (I don’t consider myself an anything really, I’m just trying to learn as much as I can.)

I have come to some sort of roadblock. Every topic I come up with seems to be weak and unsatisfactory. So I have decided to go with the flow, something people tell me all year round. These are things we can’t control, right? For the control freak of sorts like me, it is incredibly frustrating and disappointing. I always want to know what the plan of action is, I always like to have an agenda, and this has been applied to every aspect of my life. I suppose now I’m learning that life is supposed to be learnt as you go along. (Oh look, I guess I’ve found a topic. Insert celebratory fireworks.)

My point is, there are no textbooks, or tutorials, or how-to manuals on life. It’s a matter of taking things as it comes. It’s always been hard for me to deal with this fact and accept it. I don’t even know where I got the idea that I could control the flow and outcome of things such as these. So currently, my resolution is to take things as they come. I can’t remember if I had a New Year’s Resolution this year really, I’ve never taken those things very seriously. But if you really think about it, each day is the first day of another year, so you can have a resolution everyday. And it’s okay if you fail, there’s always tomorrow, and next week, and next year. Well, hopefully… It’s looking a lot like the end of the world already. Or World War III. Or some world disaster 2.0. However, what is important is that you try. There’s really nothing you can’t do, and I believe this with every ounce of my being.

So as you set out on your journeys and come up with new New Year’s Resolutions, have this in mind, Thomas Edison made 1,000 unsuccessful attempts at inventing the light bulb before he finally did it. And so, by the power vested in me, I now command you to go after every unimaginable thing, every inconceivable notion and every wonderful dream. And leave the days to the wind, it would be a futile attempt to try and contain them.

Surrenderquote
Here’s a kinda corny quote I found about taking things as they come. Enjoy.

(I wrote this post a couple of weeks ago but I didn’t post it because I wasn’t satisfied with it. I’ve decided to post it anyway though, just because I can.)

 

Howl your loudest, moon child.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “

  1. I think you took the best course of action for writer’s block: write anyway. I feel the same way about New Year’s resolutions. I think my one this January had something to do with eating fewer doughnuts, but I can’t remember. Whatever it was, it has long since been lost to time. I like your idea of every day being the start of a new year, which I suppose it is if you think about it. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s something I’m really trying to work on. Haha, I like that your resolution was not as serious as we always seem to make them…progress is progress no matter how big, right? 🙂
      Also, thanks for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

