Victim

Lately there’ve been many research pieces done on the use of the cell phone in this era. This generation has become increasingly dependent on their cell phones and the internet. The idea of staying without internet access for any period more than a day is terrifying. The idea of not logging into their social media platforms for more than 8 hours is out of this world. Unfathomable.

And it’s true. I have fallen victim to this drug too. No internet? What will I do with myself for those 20 minutes in the matatu? How will I keep in touch with my friends? How will I know what they are up to, how they’re surviving this journey called life? But it’s very simple really. Pay them a visit. But you see, I could just Snapchat them or Whatsapp them, and I’ll get the same information, right? Right, but wrong. A lot is masked behind that screen. Real emotions are masked behind that screen. It will never be the same as talking to someone face to face.

How many people really know more than 60% about the people they are always texting? I know I don’t. Sometimes I text people just because I can, because I’m bored. I will admit that the internet has somewhat made keeping in touch with people easier, but communication skills of the youth in this generation are deteriorating rapidly, at an alarming rate. It seems to me like it’s the point of no return. We’re advancing in technology. Soon we’ll be able to keep in touch telepathically or something. Now that’s serious. It requires almost no effort at all. And that will be the point of degeneration of humanity. We’ll be there living together, but for what?

There’s this other disease that has come about as a result of social media. The quest for recognition. It’s real and spreading like wild fire. Everybody wants to be known, to be noticed. It’s a weakness of the human. I thought of the novel ‘The Fault in our Stars’ by John Green in relation to this. Augustus Waters fears oblivion – the state of something that is not remembered, used or thought about any more, according to Merriam Webster’s Dictionary on my cellphone (see what I mean?) He longs for people to remember him, and the things he has done in his life. He dreads the thought of dying and nobody knowing what his life was all about.

And isn’t it true? We seek recognition. You seek recognition. I seek recognition. It hit me hard one day when I was on Twitter, and I wanted to tweet something, and then I started wondering how many favourites I could get, how many retweets too. And then I began to modify my tweet so that more people would like it. Then I just stopped and thought to myself, does it really matter how many people see this, and like it? So what? How will this have an effect on my life?

It’s quite a fickle mindset in my opinion. And I have fallen victim to it too. This must be mended. Stop trying to be Kylie Jenner. You will never look like her, let it go. Stop acting like Kevin Hart. You will never be him, let it go. Celebrities have been blown up into gods because of social media. It’s crazy. And ridiculous. This person is just as confused, weird, strong and courageous as you are. It’s time to stop focusing more on their lives via their posts on Instagram and start focusing on yourself. Have you ever thought that maybe the reason you don’t know who you are, your ambitions and goals, is because you don’t give yourself enough attention? It is not selfish. Do it. After all, you are the one living that life.

Basically, my point is, you don’t need to be recognised to make great achievements in your life. Live your life, because those celebrities are definitely living theirs.

Head up, stay strong, move on.

Leave a Reply

